setting up your computer

Tips and advice for getting the most from Scope. No questions here please.

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22994
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: setting up your computer

Post by garyb »

it's in "power settings\advanced"

*edit* i guess you found it...
janniesophia42
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2022 11:40 pm

Re: setting up your computer

Post by janniesophia42 »

garyb wrote: Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:04 pm some general tips:

as in the letter that came with v5.1, in the bios(you may have already done this) disable any of these things, or anything that is obviously the same, but slightly differently named:

Intel EIST
Intel C State
C1E Support
Overspeed Protection
Hyperthreading
Execute Bit Support
Set Limit CPUID MaxVal to 3 (maybe not so important)
Intel Virtual Tech
Intel VT-d Tech

AMD processors also have speed stepping called "power now" or "cool n quiet" or something similar, which MUST be disabled.

some AMD and Intel EIST enabled machines will have power stepping listed as Runtime Power Management. this is the same as EIST and Cool and Quiet, it must be disabled.

go to start\programs\accessories\system tools\system information\conflicts/sharing and tell me what, if anything is sharing an IRQ with Scope hardware.

You need to dig in to some tools in Windows 8 to see "System Information". Here's how you get there:
1) Go to "Control Panel" ( Press Windows key + Q and type control... )
2) In Control Panel, Scroll down and click "Performance Information and Tools"
3) On the left, Click on the bottom item "Advance Tools"
4) The 6th item should be "View Advanced System Details in System Information".
-OR-
1) Navigate to C:\Windows\System32 folder and open msinfo32.exe


in windows 7 go to start\control panel\power options click on "change power settings". make sure that sleep is "never". click on "change advanced settings". open PCI Express and turn off "Limk State Power Management"(especially for XITEs). i like to set the minimum and maximum level for the CPU at 100%. ok it all.

the reason for the bios changes and the power changes is to insure the the cpu is always 100% on. realtime audio does not have time for the power to the cpu to ramp up, as windows believes the software requires.

for the cards, i would go to the device manager. in XP it's in start\control panel\system\hardware tab. in win7 go to start. right click on computer and choose properties. click on device manager. find the Scope hardware and choose properties. uncheck "reset board if idle". that way if you leave the computer unattended for an hour or two, windows won't decide to cut power and make you have to restart scope and reload dsps.

there are actually a number of ways to get to these settings. if you already have a way you like, use it.

you can also click on the "advanced tab" in xp or advanced system settings and then the advanced tab in win7. push the performance "settings" button. choose adjust for best performance. this will give you plain win98 type windows, but it will save a TON of overhaed that the fancy windows graphics waste.

windows 8 and windows 10 machines work pretty much the same as win7 machines do.


That's really helpful. Thanks buddy.
Post Reply