How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Tips and advice for getting the most from Scope. No questions here please.

Moderators: valis, garyb

User avatar
dante
Posts: 4927
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by dante »

Immanuel
Posts: 3018
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Aalborg, Denmark

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by Immanuel »

Aah! I saw these pictures too. But when I looked at Neutron's picture, it appeared to me that they where single clamps used for two cables. Maybe they are individual clamps, which just sit shoulder to shoulder on the cards?
Information for new readers: A forum member named Braincell is known for spreading lies and malicious information without even knowing the basics of, what he is talking about. If noone responds to him, it is because he is ignored.
haba
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba »

Hello I'm from Germany and in the need of one STDM cable. The standard cable dosn't fit my motherboards PCI slots. Does this two Items would fit my needs?
http://www.ebay.de/itm/2PCs-Card-Edge-C ... EoS9knYCyw
http://www.ebay.de/itm/20-Pin-Card-Edge ... SwKrhVds5r
Thank you for watching!
haba
User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22994
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by garyb »

S/TDM cables connect two or three cards together. they go on the card, not the PCI slot.

this one looks correct, but i'd use gold contacts, not phosphor bronze. the bronze contacts may oxidize, which will eventually make the cable fail. i think nickel would be better than bronze as well, even though nickel is also prone to oxidation.
haba
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba »

Thank you Gary, I know, but my PCI slot spacing did`nt fit the standard cable (its too short). What do you think about the other one? would require some soldering but it sould not be that bad.
They say it uses gold contacts.
http://www.ebay.de/itm/2PCs-Card-Edge-C ... EoS9knYCyw
User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22994
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by garyb »

the other connectors simply crimp on as much ribbon cable as you like. sure, you can solder it, but that's an ugly job.
haba
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba »

thanks Gary...I habe two older original cables...the one doesn't sit well...the other doesn't make a good connection...and because I need 4 cables..I thought I'll give it a try with soldering. But your right...60 solderpoints for one cable...it's ugly...
User avatar
Marco
Posts: 1260
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Ödenwald

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by Marco »

I bought 2 cards from one guy, this is the easiest way to get the cables for nothing to pay extra because they are part of the offer! :D
I know, this will not help you :o

Now I have 5 cables connected, working great with 3 x 15 dsp cards

Runs like hell!
:wink: out and about for music production. Are you still configguring your Studio :lol: music first!
haba
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba »

I finally bought 20 connectors for 15 euro...I have 5 X 6 DSP and 1 Luna to connect...
User avatar
Marco
Posts: 1260
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:27 pm
Location: Ödenwald

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by Marco »

You are a lucky man! Really.
:wink: out and about for music production. Are you still configguring your Studio :lol: music first!
haba
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba »

:-) I know! :-)
haba
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:53 pm

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by haba »

This ones don't fit...
http://www.ebay.de/itm/2PCs-Card-Edge-C ... EoS9knYCyw
in case that sombebody wants to to buy them.
ta7

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by ta7 »

I don't know if the question completely answered. But here is a useful link. It is only in German but i thing with a translater easy to understand

http://sonic-core.net/joomla.soniccore/ ... 56&lang=de
User avatar
dante
Posts: 4927
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by dante »

Selecting the English flag icon works, for both the page and the PDF - no need for a translator.
User avatar
garyb
Moderator
Posts: 22994
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2001 4:00 pm
Location: ghetto by the sea

Re: How to make an STDM cable for cheap

Post by garyb »

the info here and on Scoperise has part numbers and everything...
Post Reply