Intel W480 Chips For Scope

PC Configurations, motherboards, etc, etc

Moderators: valis, garyb

dawman

Intel W480 Chips For Scope

Post by dawman »

I had issues with C236 Xeon chipset and went with consumer H97 as my spare, which I’m using right now.
Need a new spare and want the Xeon 1250P chipset.

Only problem is I’ve no knowledge of anyone using the W480 with Scope.

Please chime in.
Bud Weiser

Re: Intel W480 Chips For Scope

Post by Bud Weiser »

dawman wrote: Sun Jan 24, 2021 3:49 pm I had issues with C236 Xeon chipset and went with consumer H97 as my spare, which I’m using right now.
Need a new spare and want the Xeon 1250P chipset.

Only problem is I’ve no knowledge of anyone using the W480 with Scope.

Please chime in.
Well, I fear you´ll be the 1st one using this combo when deciding for.
I don´t know anyone using W480 chipset and XEON 1250P processor for the time being.

I´ve read a german test of such AsRock mobo, running the smaller 3.2GHz processor yesterday, but that wasn´t audio/MIDI (or SCOPE) specific at all.
But looks great from specs.
https://www.ocinside.de/test/mainboard_ ... creator_d/

It´s pricey,- so they mentioned AsRock Z490 "Steel Legend" as an alternative.
https://www.ocinside.de/test/mainboard_ ... _legend_d/

:)

Bud
garyb

Post by garyb »

Bill Goldstein(Fame, etc) used the scalable Xeon pretty successfully. i don't remember the exact model.
dante

Post by dante »

@Dawman I thought you were looking at an AMD / Ryzen combo - has that concept bitten the dust ?
dawman

Post by dawman »

garyb wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 7:02 am Bill Goldstein(Fame, etc) used the scalable Xeon pretty successfully. i don't remember the exact model.
Well you’re going to build this right?
See if you can find out if he used the W series, that would be most helpful.

Thanks Cheif
dawman

Post by dawman »

dante wrote: Mon Jan 25, 2021 6:22 pm @Dawman I thought you were looking at an AMD / Ryzen combo - has that concept bitten the dust ?