1 vs 2 computer setups

A place to talk about whatever Scope music/gear related stuff you want.

Moderators: valis, garyb

heizen33

1 vs 2 computer setups

Post by heizen33 »

hello i am new to scope platform and have 2 computers. would there be any advantges to using 2 computers(1 for scope platform and other for use with sequencer) or should i just do everything with 1 computer? if there are advantages to using 2 computers how would i hook up computers to work together?tnx
fidox

Re: 1 vs 2 computer setups

Post by fidox »

hey,

i have one simple setup using 2 computers,
-main (master) audio computer 15 DSP's (2xPulsar XTC+1xLunaII) + Cubase sequencer
connection = Midi Out to second computer Midi In and SP-DIF in/out,

-second (slave) computer with 1xLuna II (3ms latency) + steinberg V-stack (that lets you add up to 16 VST Instruments)

like having external musicstation

it helps me a lot on my projects,

matej
Tau

Post by Tau »

I also have a 2 pc setup, one for sequencing and vsts, and another one just for scope. Both computers connect via MIDI (in order to play and automate scope devices from the sequencer) and via ADAT (so I can send tracks from the seq to scope for mixing / processing, and back, for recording). The sequencer PC has an RME Digiface, with 3x ADAt I/O, which means 24 tracks digital I/O. The Scope machine also operates as a mixer for all my hardware, via an A16 Ultra, enabling real-time monitoring and processing with no latency.

I decided to build a second machine (socket 478) just for the Scopes because I was having some trouble getting them to work properly in the dual-core, and also because I had 3 Scope cards and only 2 PCI slots left in the computer! The main advantage of this setup is to have better performance both in vst and Scope, the disadvantages are not being able to use XTC mode and, of course, having twice the computer noise in the studio.