Loop extract from Sample CD's

Please remember the terms of your membership agreement.

Moderators: valis, garyb

Ben Walker

Loop extract from Sample CD's

Post by Ben Walker »

Hi,
I have some loops that I've imported from sample CD's which I'd like to recycle for use in Stylus RMX. Unfortunately, because I extracted them myself from the wav tracks, they are not perfect loops. Do I have to finetune the loops myself, by hand/ear or can anyone reccomend any software (free/cheap preferably) which can help chop / expand the wav files to exactly the right length according to tempo.

I find the loop tuning tool in soundforge not so good for loops, better for short waveforms.

Not a very good explanation of what I need, but I'm sure someone will understand.

Thanks,
Ben
Neil B

Re: Loop extract from Sample CD's

Post by Neil B »

I'm not really an expert Ben, but I'll try

If you're going to drop them into Stylus, they have to be in REX format.
You used the word "recycle" in your text, so have you got recycle?
If you have, I seem to remember that you can set the right locator (and left of course) so that you get the loop spot on. Then in recycle you can set your number of split points so that the REX file will generate the right points for RMX.

If you haven't got Recycle, I'm sure that Braincell or someone similar can guide you on hitpoints in Cubase for instance, but even so, you have to convert these waves into REX format.

In terms of a cheapy tool for tidyiing up wave files to the right size, I use Goldwave (free somewhere on the net).
Again with this you can set the left and right locators and then use the "trim" command to get rid of the unwanted bits.
This only leaves a wave file without split points or zones though, so you still need something to turn it into a REX file.

Hope that's a start for you
Merkury

Post by Merkury »