Q: I want to build a device using the Dynatube cabs...

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.

Moderators: valis, garyb

voidar

Q: I want to build a device using the Dynatube cabs...

Post by voidar »

Thing is, I am a total SDK newbie.

I'll restrict myself to four dedicated devices at first (mesa, marshall, vox, fender), so I need to do some IFs based on the project sample-rate to load the right module (44.1K or 48K) and then I guess I would need to use the dynamic voice of parent-thing.

Anyway.. The the big Q:

Is project sample-rate a val easily accessible?

And I guess I have another Q.. If I succeed in building this device, would I in anyway impact on copy rights if I would release it in the Device-section? I don't think so as you would need a card registered with DT for it to work in the first place, right?
I seem to remember a similar discussion on use of the FleXor atoms.

:)
Immanuel

Post by Immanuel »

I think the people from Sonic Core would be the ones to give you the best answers on the part about rights. Dynatube is not part of SDK, so you are applying something out of context - though it is released by the same company.
voidar

Post by voidar »

But what I am in essence doing is interfacing with a hardware-protected module. Idealy at least.

I could make a small device that only loads the correct device similar to the way Dynatube does it. It would in essence be just as "criminal" as pulling a cab module into your SFP-project.
Shroomz~>

Post by Shroomz~> »

Why would you want to access the project sample rate from your device instead of the project sample rate window? If you want to toggle your device between different sample rate modes all that's really needed is a val switching system for the divisor pad of any delay-based range text modules that you're using so that they read out the correct delay time values for the current sample rate. Maybe I'm missing the point of what you want to achieve?
voidar