pitch detector

A place for developers to share ideas and assist each other in solving problems.

Moderators: valis, garyb

alfonso

Post by alfonso »

hello everybody,
i'm not a scope developer, just a pulsarian, but i post here to ask if anyone thougt to make a module for the modular that detects pitch of an incoming signal (of course monophonic) and outputs a freq. mvc type signal to drive pitch of the oscillator...
could anybody tell me the specs of mvc freq. out? what kind of values are output to the osc.?
i tried to drive directly with a guitar a modular osc and it sounds, but acting mostly like a weird filter.....but it must be possible to do something else.

i hope i didn't bother you
cheers, alfonso
alfonso

Post by alfonso »

i've done it!
not the pitch detector, but a true modular to be driven by guitar or vocals or....
very soon on cw site and planetz.
just to close the thread a little O.T.

cheers, alfonso.
Neutron

Post by Neutron »

We have everything we need to make a pich detector except for a critical component which is a frequency to "voltage" (control level) converter this is not to hard to make with analog components but probably quite difficult with DSP.

one way similar to analog pitch detector circuit would be an atom that sends out a fixed length pulse every zero crossing, and another one to count how many pulses there were per second (adjustable time period - accuracy vs speed) and output a "voltage"

you would need other circuitry to pre process the input, but thats all there allready.
Peezahj

Post by Peezahj »

Isn't that basically what the Obsidian Tuner is doing (which has quite a lag, btw, which may be the fault of the method rather than the designer)?
Neutron

Post by Neutron »

I have not seen this device.
claes

Post by claes »

it's just to count the samples since the last positive zero crossing every time a positive zero crossing occurs..

it shouldn't need more than a couple of rows of assembly to do it.
stecki

Post by stecki »